The Lakeland federal electoral district is located in rural, northeast Alberta and stretches from Bruderheim just east of Edmonton to the Saskatchewan border city of Lloydminster. The riding then stretches up to Athabasca and down to Paradise Valley.

In addition to the communities mentioned above, Lakeland includes Bonnyville, Elk Point, Lamont, Mundare, St. Paul, Smoky Lake, Two Hills, Vegreville and Vermilion. There are a number of First Nations reserves and settlements in the riding including the Saddle Lake Cree Nation, Whitefish (Goodfish) Lake Cree Nation, Kehewin Cree Nation, Frog Lake First Nation, and Onion Lake Cree Nation.

There are five Métis settlements: Kikino Metis Settlement, Fishing Lake Metis Settlement, Elizabeth Métis Settlement, and Buffalo Lake Métis Settlement.

The electoral district was created in 1996 from the combination of the Beaver River and Vegreville ridings. It was dissolved in 2003, with parts transferred to the Vegreville – Wainwright and the Westlock – St. Paul electoral districts, with a portion transferred to the riding of Athabasca.

The 2015, Lakeland was recreated through an amalgamation of the Fort McMurray – Athabasca, Westlock – St. Paul and Vegreville – Wainwright electoral districts. The former Members of Parliament from these ridings were David Yurdiga (current M.P. for Fort McMurray – Cold Lake), Brian Storseth, and Leon Benoit. 

To view a map of Lakeland, click on the following: Lakeland Map



According to the Elections Canada and Statistics Canada, Lakeland’s estimated population is 104, 616 with 79,334 registered voters. The area averages out to 31,877 square kilometres, with the population density being 3.3 per square kilometre.

In Lakeland, energy and agriculture are the primary industries.


Provincial Representation:

Athabasca-Sturgeon-Redwater ~ Colin Piquette

Bonnyville-Cold Lake ~ Scott Cyr

Lac La Biche-St. Paul-Two Hills ~ David Hanson

Vegreville-Fort Saskatchewan ~ Jessica Littlewood

Vermillion-Lloydminster ~ Richard Starke


First Nations Reserves:

Saddle Lake Cree Nation

Whitefish (Goodfish) Lake Cree Nation

Kehewin Cree Nation

Frog Lake First Nation

Onion Lake Cree Nation


Metis Settlements:

Kikino Métis Settlement

Buffalo Lake Métis Settlement

Fishing Lake Métis Settlement

Elizabeth Métis Settlement



Municipal District of Athabasca County

Municipal District of Bonnyville

Lamont County

County of Minburn

Thorhild County

County of Two Hills

County of St. Paul

Smoky Lake County

County of Vermillion River



Village of Andrew

Village of Boyle

Village of Chipman

Village of Dewberry

Village of Glendon

Village of Innisfree

Village of Kitscoty

Village of Mannville

Village of Marwayne

Village of Myrnam

Village of Paradise Valley

Village of Vilna

Village of Waskatenau

Village of Willingdon


Towns and Cities:

Town of Athabasca

Town of Bonnyville

Town of Elk Point

Town of Lamont

Town of Mundare

City of Lloydminster    

Town of St. Paul

Town of Smoky Lake

Town of Two Hills

Town of Vegreville

Town of Vermilion